Fill ‘er Up With Air!

Several years ago, I had the privilege to chat with a top non-chemist. He told me that it was possible in the near future that we could make fuel out of air. This might solve our problem of reliance on finite supplies of fossil fuels. Not only that, we could enter an era of clean energy abundance. It was the most optimistic future scenario I had ever heard and I did not believe it.

Hmmm … well, today I read that there may be ways to use graphene to generate electricity from air. That is pretty wild. And I am thinking again about that conversation I had a few years ago. Will this come about? Who knows! But some interesting things are stirring. That is for sure.

Leave a Reply

