Thinking about Sync and Share

The other day, I wrote about how I use blogging for ideation. This method has been evolving over the last years, and it works for me. It also ties into thinking about how work becomes more productive.  here is a quote from GigaOm

The virtual distributed file system implemented by file sync-and-share systems has become the core of how we get work done today. New ways to dynamically and flexibly access files that we need based on what we are doing are likely to be major contributors to future productivity gains.

You can translate the “how we get work done today” idea into “how we add value in what we do”. And, true enough, to add value, we need to “dynamically and flexibly access files that we need based on what we are doing …”. In my blogging model, I am creating files as I go (by daily blogging) and developing more dynamic and flexible access paths (by building threads around questions that lead to better ideas). I don’t directly sync, but I do track and build. And I can choose when I am ready to share these with target groups.

Leave a Reply

